Fred letter

 thanks for your kind letter. I send you these articles not only
for the information they contain, but also to show you the value of the
free press we have here in America. Most of the time, such open dialogue
produces the best results. Unfortunately, I cannot agree with Tom
Friedman's position on Iraq. The American intervention has produced a
holocaust for Iraqis so I'm reduced to the idea that we should get out and
let them have their civil war. This wave of senseless terrorism by the
Sunnis proves to me that the last thing they want is a democracy because
shiite rule is so abhorrent to them. As you may know, there were 600
thousand deaths in the U.S. civil war, one of the great shames in recorded
history. But it did bring the union together and we went forward from
there. As a matter of fact, more boys were killed in this war than in all
our other wars combined. Yes, I'm a great movie fan but I've stopped going
because modern movies are so awful. The target audience is uneducated
teenagers so I stay at home with my books. However, if you like Stanley
Kubric, then you must see "Paths of Glory" easily the best war movie of
all time. Kirk Douglas does a brilliant job in this film. I wasn't that
impressed with "Eyes Wide Shut" but as in all art, taste is very
subjective. If you want to know more about me, I think our  e-mail
exchange is probably a good barometer. I read voraciously and reflect a
great deal also. Though I'm not religious, I try to live by the rule
"do unto others as you would have them do unto you". And though I'm not a
Christian, I truly accept Christ's words, "let him who is without sin cast
the first stone." Does that help? FRED

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد